Sweet Summer Time

School at Missouri State University is almost over, and I am ecstatic. This past week, it has been in the 90’s and summer is quickly approaching. The first thing that comes to my mind when I know the weather is going to be hot that day is my livestock. This gets me thinking about summer and how ready I am for it to arrive.

For my family, summer brings long, hot, busy days. One day during our summer consist of waking up early before it gets too hot and rinsing our cattle and putting them under fans for the day. Then, we start to feed everything and make sure they have water, clean up pens, etc. After my chores are done in the morning at my house, I head over to Murphy Cattle Company, rinse cattle and do whatever tasks that need to be done that day.

While I am gone during the day, my sister takes care of the cattle that we have at home and the show pigs. She makes sure everything stays cool and comfortable, has water, and stays clean for the most part. When I get home, my sister and I usually feed first, depending on how hot it is at the time. After that is complete, we walk our pigs when the sun starts to go down and it starts to cool off, and give them a bath. The daily skin care of our pigs consists of cocoanut conditioner about 2 times a day because it doesn’t have a lot of oils in it which allows our pigs to stay cool.

Once our pigs are walked, bathed, and conditioned, it is cool enough to turn our cattle outside for the night. We walk one time through the barn to make sure everything has water and we then head inside and go to bed ourselves. We wake up the next morning and do it all over again.

Having show livestock requires a lot of hard work and dedication. We wouldn’t do it if we didn’t love it! It can be exhausting at times, but we just have to keep in mind what we want to accomplish and what we’re doing all of this for. My sister and I have our own way of telling ourselves this.  That is a countdown to the Missouri State Fair on a dry erase board in our tack room. This keeps us motivated to always try our best to get our livestock presented to the best of their ability when it comes show time!

Results of past summers…

  1. I cannot wait for summer either!!! It sounds like you have a busy one ahead. It was nice to hear about how you care for your livestock. I used to show dairy cows so I know all about how much dedication it takes to prepare for the big shows! Good luck at the Missouri State Fair and all the other shows this summer! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

