Twice Makes a Tradition

This past weekend we survived our road trip to and from Cuba, Missouri. We have decided to make this one a tradition. Last year on the last weekend in April, we traveled to Owensville, Missouri for the same show. That year we woke up at 3:30 in the morning and decided to drive to the show. This year, we would like to say we gained a year of knowledge and decided to leave Friday evening. This drive was a lot better than it would have been at 4 o’clock in the morning for all of us.

Who would have thought that every hotel in Cuba, Missouri was booked on this weekend? They were hosting a “Spyderfest” with motorcycles and much more I’m certain.  We got a hotel in St. James, which was about 15 minutes from the show and everything worked out just fine.

Saturday morning rolled around and it was time to show cattle! After everything was washed and fed we had some downtime before we had to start getting our cattle ready and fit up. We had two shows this day with two separate rings and two judges. As soon as you had shown in one ring you just went straight to the other.

We had a pretty solid day with Champion Chi in both rings and 3rd overall heifer in both rings. Champion Hereford in both rings and 4th Overall heifer in one ring. Reserve champion crossbred heifer in both rings, champion shorthorn plus steer in both rings with 3rd overall in one ring and 5th overall in the other ring.

Most of you who read this on a weekly basis are the ones who help me to the show ring every time and/or also to where I am today. You help me in every aspect of my life whether it be doing things at home when I can’t be there, school, or just being there for me to talk too.  Whenever I am in need of something, you never hesitate to lend a helping hand and I will never take those things for granted. I thank each and every one of you who make everything possible for me to accomplish anything I set my mind too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

