Why Argiculture?

Living on a farm my whole life has made me the person I am today. Without agriculture, technically, I wouldn’t have a major or even a minor right now. I decided my senior year of high school to pursue a career in agriculture. When making my decision, the only thing I could imagine were being involved with farming, animals, and the country.

Through my childhood, I was outside on the farm the majority of my time. I spent almost every minute of my summer with my dad and my winters feeding livestock and riding horses. Growing up this way has taught me responsibility, money management skills, and that there needs to be balance in my life. When I was eight years old, my dad bought me my first gilt that I was going to show that summer. This was the first thing that I was solely responsible for.  It was my job that she had food, water, and clean shavings.  After my first test of responsibility, I must have passed, because I soon had more and more pigs owned to my name each summer and that led to cattle.

The thing about agriculture is it’s not just a hobby; it is a way of life. It’s a way to bring up your children, learn life lessons, and make your life enjoyable. Every day in the world of agriculture is a challenge and an obstacle within itself. You never know what tomorrow will bring you and that is the most exhilarating thing about agriculture. This is one business that will never be forgotten.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

