Just A Weekend at Home

This past weekend I was able to travel back to the central part of Missouri.  It wasn’t because I had a cattle show, a wedding, or like I had too. It was because I wanted too.  It seems like for the past month or so every time I have been home it was because we had a cattle show, or we had one coming up.

This weekend I was just able to do some dirty work… ok I washed my show cattle once!  The winter time is my favorite time of the year when working with cattle. However, this “winter” is somewhat of an exception considering it only snowed once. You may call me lame, but I enjoy feeding hay in the pastures and just being around them when I don’t have to worry about 100 degree weather.  My show cattle don’t have to be rinsed constantly and be under fans just about 24/7 either.

For quite some time now, we have been getting ready for an annual bull sale. It’s almost here!…  The first step in this process is picking out the better bulls to start getting ready. We brought them up closer to us and started halter breaking them. After we thought they could handle the wash rack, we started washing them and then clipped the bulls. These boys are filthy, mainly DUSTY, when they get their first bath. The wash rack is usually somewhat white (haha), but when we get done with the bull sale, it is just about black.

When the bulls have been tamed, washed, and clipped, it is now picture time.  A vast majority of the bulls are pictured so they can be put in the sale catalog. Then before you know it, it is sale day. Sometimes it is not fast enough, but it is all worth it in the end!

This coming weekend, not only do we have a bull sale, but we have a cattle show in Columbia. This is the MU Block and Bridle’s annual show. This past weekend and week has been and is being spent getting bulls and show calves ready for their events. Once again, this couldn’t be pulled off without the great team we have!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

