Remember Where you Come From

Some advice I got standing in the middle of the pig barn at the Missouri State Fair from my so called “big brother” was “remember who you are and where you come from”.  At this point I was saying my goodbyes getting ready to head off to college.

This has definitely stuck with me from moving from a small town of 1200 people to a semi-large town of Springfield. The little things get me from just doing chores every night to instead doing homework or just hanging out with friends. I am an energetic person and I have to always be doing something and sometimes while at college I find myself under some boredom.

This past weekend I went back to my hometown due to a wedding and my heifer, Paris, yes like “Hilton” she was a little high maintenance, I had shown this past summer was getting close to calving. I waited all weekend and it became Sunday night and still nothing. So, unfortunately I had to head back south. Monday afternoon I got a phone call that Paris had her heifer calf in about 2 inches of snow. They took her into the basement and dried her off with a hair dryer. I appreciate that I have such good friends and family who can rally round when it is needed. This is a memory added to my growing cow herd.

The thing about agriculture that has always suck out to me and always seems to amaze me is that you never know what tomorrow will bring you.  It isn’t always easy and many obstacles come up along the way. With hard work and dedication they can be achieved. My experience in the agriculture industry will continue to help me to grow and prosper in this field.

Paris's calf

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

